bathroom fan gettting noisy

Another project to finish before winter…….

I’ve already disasemmbled and cleaned the thing. Was very happy to have a quiet working fan again but about a week later the noise of self-destruction returned.

Now I am thinking a replacement is needed.

a bunch of choices here..

http://www.waveplumbing.com/store/index.php?main_page=index&cPath=55

great link here especially canuk‘s comments on fan maintenence.

Had taken apart the fan *again*, I want to fix the current one rather than replace at > $150. Hopefully replace motor for less than $50.

Now where did I leave that model number???

arrgh, couldn’t find it so I just kept surfing until I found this than this. So the model is 8663RP the motor model number is 86933000

Ended up ordering this from Amazon partner.  $41 shipped. Hope it does the trick.

Oct 15th Received the motor from PartsOnline; disassembled the old unit. and guess what? The new unit is a perfect fit except its shorter and the shaft is smooth while the old one has a step 3/4 down the shaft.  grrrr Should have disassembled again and confirmed the model numbers. When will I learn??

Old motor #C-53581 MOD JA2C395N#.

oh so close

oh so close

Sooo….

October 27th,

got RMA for wrong motor, they don’t have the right motor.

53581motor here for $34+ here

Nov 12 still going strong. Found motor locally at Debbies Supply after I looked through their selection myself (1st time kid looked but did not find it).   Fan was quiet at first but started making noise slightly, so like the rep at Electric Motor Wharehouse said the fan blade hub may be worn out.  Getting fan locally at Manards for $15.

Nov. 13; Went to Manards, walked through the huge showroom and they pointed me to the back. There is a huge parts counter through a small door in the back I had never noticed before.  After a minute dealing with a couple slackers found someone who knew what he was doing. Before I had the complete description of what I was looking for out of my mouth he was on his way into the bowels of the shelves.  He came back with a fan that looked like my old one albeit with a new friction fit device for the shaft on the motor.  It was $3 cheaper than qouted on the phone to boot.

Back home I Installed it on the old motor and it is evident the noise since the begining was the fan. The hole was enlarged enough to cause a wobble that would get louder with use.

Now the old motor is a beefier sounding unit, the new one from Debbie’s was a bit quieter. I had not installed the or RMAd the one from PartsOnline. I am so anal I may just test all three and keep the quietest one.  Please stop me. : )

2 comments so far

  1. Jack on

    a fan is a fan I say

  2. chaztor on

    hopefully not, I have a dying, loud nu-tone now, hope to replace with a high quality, quieter unit.


Leave a comment